welcome to the danger zone

Just A Little Bit Before I Try to Sleep (Again)

Ha! Tomorrow I go to interventional radiology to get my tube removed. So, ok, maybe they are referring to it as a tube change, but I am going to present a very well formulated argument about why it needs to come out. There are totally legit reasons, aside from the nagging pain and tugging hose. For example, my immune system is constantly on high alert preventing infection and trying to heal the holes in my back that don’t exist there normally. All that energy spent on fighting fungi and plagues and rare disease spores doesn’t give me much energy for anything else – I’m good for about a day a week. My immune system would benefit from a break and since my bladder provides me with nothing but happiness and joy these days, it’s clear emptying the guts from the pufferfish, was beneficial in relieving the hell of my pelvic region. So, using logic and reason, I have also deduced that my ureter is probably not being crushed any longer at this point in time, in which case, we can remove the hose from my back.

I apologize for my lack of writing – most of the last two weeks I have been horizontal, except for an afternoon in Hershey, and D4 last Friday. I just opened the computer for the first time since Friday. I’ve been subsisting on chocolate milk, crunchy Cheetos and mac and cheese – and a very delicious and fiery taco that Andy brought home from the taco truck he found. I have developed an unnatural addiction to chocolate milk in the last two weeks which must mean my body was lacking something. I had a few days where I plunged into darkness and cried endlessly and sporadically and could only sooth myself by taking long drives in the car and screaming in peaceful forests and valleys. I expect that will occur again after my Dr. visit on Thursday with palliative care. So I’m downloading some more music to my phone. And let’s not forget it’s FALL, which means things are dying everywhere and winter is coming and as we all know, this has never been a cheerful time for me emotionally, because not only is everything dying around me, the people who have meant the most to me who have gone to another place or body, left me in October or November. And then there’s all that turkey death. Dead, albeit delicious, turkeys everywhere. I hope I am up to cooking Thanksgiving dinner this year for the boy and I. Maybe we can have a thanksgiving picnic/food fight like we did when he was two. Good times.

Okay, I’m adequately drowsy now so I can get some sleep before it’s time to get on the road. I can’t have anything to eat or drink after 6 am, so I have to get up before then for my chocolate milk and toast. Or I’ll end up trying to bite a nurse when I get hungry and that never goes well. I’ll try and be more consistent about this blog. I mean I need to write more just for the sake of clearing out my head – I just have to be able to sit up to do it, and that’s been sketchy lately. Chemo never made me as weak and sick as I have been these last two weeks. I am just glad I kept the circle I infected very small because no one deserves to suffer like that. So my friends, and visitors, and passers thru, please send positive thoughts and vibes and animal/insect/fish/vegan sacrifices my way, so that the frankentube is history as of tomorrow. I promise more stories in the days to come. For real.

Leave a Reply

