welcome to the danger zone

Some Days Suck

It’s been a while my friends.

I probably should have done this last night when I couldn’t sleep. As usual of late, I always have good intentions to write more frequently, and then I come home and I’m nauseated or in pain or just so tired, that I say “I’ll do it later” and either medicate myself into oblivion, or fall asleep. So, sorry.

Edit: I was in a bad place writing this, but like I’ve said before, this blog is for me rather than anyone reading it, and I have to be honest about what is in my head, for my own sake. So don’t get all weird on me.

And I should write more. Instead of letting shit fester and boil and then find myself driving along the Burma road bursting into tears because I didn’t get to pick huckleberries with my son this year, and I don’t know if there will be a next year. Full fucking meltdown. Followed by another after I pulled my shit together and kept my appointment, and headed home. I am a mess today. Probably because I couldn’t sleep last night and I am just that much more tired than I have been lately.

That’s the fucking thing about having cancer. I don’t look like that little beast inside me is doing any damage. I’m still fat. Cancer twice and I am still the size of fucking heifer. Another 50 pounds would have been great…

PAUSE

I am about to begin a very negative bit here about everything that sucks about having cancer. Or that I can think of. So leave now, because I don’t want pity later. I am so entitled to this rant because it’s less than a month until my scans and dr appointment. It’s just gonna say what I already know (and am daily terrified about) – that pufferfish grew some more. I’m starting to have real pain again, and I can feel the increasing pressure As if the resurgence of pain wasn’t a gift on its own, the Tamoxifen makes me have hot flashes throughout the day, or want to puke, or makes me cold. My toes are periodically numb. Or sometimes they feel like someone is hammering razor blades into my toes. My days are about sleeping or thinking about sleeping. I am scared. Terrified even. And again, not of dying, because that’s not what frightens me. What frightens me is when Andy asks what is going to happen next and I can’t answer him, and I think about just ending it now, before it gets worse, because it isn’t fair to him. Don’t get all twisted, I’m not making plans, but if I am gonna be true to myself, I need to say what’s real, and not some pretty fairy tale that makes a good read. I’m typing through the tears, because it’s a day where I can’t just force rainbows and unicorns out my ass.

I spend a lot of time trying to stay positive. And I normally am. But I can’t pretend that cancer is not the omnipresent force in my life. I get up to walk, I feel it; I sit, I feel it; I try to sleep, it’s there. It’s in my waking thoughts and in my nightmares. I think about clinical trials and what I will hear at my next appointment. The only time I don’t think about it as much is when I find the perfect balance of medication to bring me bliss. And it’s not happening today – I am waiting for prescription in the mail, and my natural medication is just not as effective as usual, so I am a moody, whiny, blob.

I’ve decided to stop here. I have good things I want to write about, and I will either later or tomorrow. I feel like I’ve purged some of the icky and actually feel tired, and want to sleep. Be well, and I’ll be back.

800px-Crocodile_warning_sign_01.svg

Leave a Reply

