welcome to the danger zone

Late Night TimeSucks and the Persistence of Memory

Nothing too humorous or profound in this one folks, just a bit of a memory that I thought tossing into the old blog would help me not to forget.

When I was but a wee lass, my mother (and probably my grandmother) had a big tin of buttons. The funny thing was that you might think it was very practical, and I am sure it was, but now that I think about it, there were a lot of non-practical buttons in it. I remember dumping it out on the floor, and putting all the special buttons in a pile to marvel over their elegance and putting all the other buttons back in the tin. There were hundreds of buttons in that tin, and I was fascinated by them. I don’t know why this is so important to write about, but we must not forget that I am queen of irrational emotion right now, and this feels like one of those. I wish I could go back to that simpler time now and then – but then I remember that those happy, simple memories are few and far between.
I blame Pinterest. If it hadn’t sucked me into its world of fascinating useless things I will pin and collect and not really ever look at again, I wouldn’t have seen buttons, and wouldn’t be lost in a memory right now.
I should be sleeping. I think I’ll try.

Leave a Reply

